Another Statement Monitor build

Expect slow progress here, fellas.

Anyway, I got all the MDF cut at the shop a few days ago,

Click image for larger version

Name:	70ae8e54.webp
Views:	791
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	934915

I got the mid tunnels glued together and am getting the sides assembled now, I'll try to get a pic of them tomorrow. (if I feel like walking in the shop when it is 108* here tomorrow) :evil:

Also, because I physically can't do the simple easy thing, and I'm a glutton for punishment, I have decided to finish these with a french polish. I've never done any wood finishing before so I figure why not start by learning an old school labor intensive technique, right?

Anyway, I put together a test panel to practice technique on before I tackle the cabinets.

This is after 2 bodying sessions

Name:	ec4f1b59.webp
Views:	119
Size:	46.1 KB
ID:	934916

and sans flash:

Name:	ba2140cd.webp
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	934917

I'll try to keep this updated, but the way my projects tend to go I'm hoping I finish in 6-8 mos. :lol:

Cheers!
    Last edited by theSven; 02 May 2023, 11:26 Tuesday. Reason: Update image location
  • impala454
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Oct 2007

Nice finish! Can't wait to see it on the final cabinets!
    -Chuck

Comment

• technodanvan
      Super Senior Member
      • Nov 2009

No kidding, that'll look goooood...
      - Danny

Comment

• Norm
        • Mar 2011

Very nice test piece on your finish. Very good idea perfecting your technique on a not-part-of-the-speaker panel. What veneer and/or stain is providing the color?

Comment

• diamondjoequimb
          • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Norm
          Very nice test piece on your finish. Very good idea perfecting your technique on a not-part-of-the-speaker panel. What veneer and/or stain is providing the color?
          It is a generic maple veneer from a sample pack I picked up at a local hardwood supplier. My plan is to use either curly or birdseye maple on the actual speakers.