X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RegulatorCT
    • Feb 2010

Tritrix - The entry to DIY speakers?

Hello all !

I'm excited to finally post on this forum after spending countless hours reading over some awesome mission accomplished threads!

I am brand new to speaker building but I have heard a set of towers my friend built that sounded as good if not better then anything I had heard in stores. I have been wanting to get into speaker building ever since.

I have been reading up on the TriTrix for some time and I'm taking the plunge into a 'easier' beginner design. (I'll purchase the kit through your PE banner link of course

I do have some (likely silly newbie) questions and I hope that some of you good folks will clear them up!

1. First I am curious about sealed vs ported. I understand that ported designs need more room to breath so they wouldn't be able to stand flush along a wall?

2. Is the advantage of ported enclosures that they enjoy better low end reproduction? What is the advantage of sealed? They can position anywhere?

3. Transmission Line Tritrix? What is it that makes a design transmission line? My understanding is that TL is a concept of a designs ability to direct the movement of energy. Is the Tritrix TL design different to the sealed and ported versions? Or do the sealed and ported designs both encompass the TL concepts?

I hope not to get flamed to badly for being a novice... all help is appreciated!

I am stoked to get some advice and tips and then dive into my first project!

Tyler
  • krips
    • Sep 2007

Welcome to htg! I'll give it a shot and then someone more knowledgeable can chime in. Ported designs have better low end response. Sealed designs should have better group delay and can have greater enclosure deviation, and are also smaller than ported enclosures. I built the tritrix speakers a couple years ago and they're still kickin' around, sounding good.
    Sharp LC-42D64U
    TriTrix MTM (Sealed)

Comment

• john trials
      • Mar 2009