Tritrix in TL Encl. OR Zaph SR71 as mains?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • acex008
    • Dec 2008

Tritrix in TL Encl. OR Zaph SR71 as mains?

So I'm just getting started on my HT system. I picked up a Yamaha YHT-590 5.1 system for cheap which includes the HTR-6130 receiver that'll handle 6ohms. I'm ditching the included powered sub and building a dual Elemental Designs EHQS12 powered subwoofer set for the lows. I'm ditching the included satelites and looking to build my DIY mains, center and rears next. For the mains, should I go with the Tritrix in the TL enclosure or the Zaph SR71's? I'm open to all opinions on the topic... Also, if I go with the SR71's which center and rears should I build to match? If I build the Tritrix, I'll just build a Tritrix ported center and a pair of sealed for the rears... This system will be for music and HT use.
  • ---k---
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Nov 2005

Both are well respected designs. The SR71 uses better drivers and is a better speaker, but cost more. Are there other considerations?

You've probably seen that Lunchmoney first built the Tritrix and is currently building the SR71.
    - Ryan

CJD Ochocinco! ND140/BC25SC06 MTM & TM
    CJD Khanspires - A Dayton RS28/RS150/RS225 WMTMW
    CJD Khancenter - A Dayton RS28/RS150/RS180 WTMW Center

Comment

• lunchmoney
      • Jul 2008

I'll letcha know when the SR71's are done... I'm expecting them to be substantially better than the Tritrix's, but of course they cost a LOT more.

Comment

• acex008
        • Dec 2008

I know they are pretty much 2x the price but what I'm wondering is if they're honestly 2x the speaker? I guess at 1/2 the price I could build all 5 speakers of the Tritrix. If I go with the SR71's I'd have to build them first and save up for the center and rears...