X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kitjv
    • Dec 2007

RB1080/RC1082 - I Need a Bit of Guidance

I had the opportunity yesterday to audition a pair of Paradigm Studio 100s with the Rotel RC1070/RB1070 preamp & power amp combination. My ears were very pleased. However, I am curious about the audible difference that the Rotel RC1082/RB1080 would make with these same speakers. Or maybe going with the RC1070 & the RB1080? As a newbie, I really appreciate all of your help. THANK YOU.
  • Mikael
    • Aug 2007

I'm sure you will find the RC1082/RB1080 a better sounding combo.It cost a bit more, but it is worth every penny.

Comment

• kitjv
      • Dec 2007

Originally posted by Mikael
      I'm sure you will find the RC1082/RB1080 a better sounding combo.It cost a bit more, but it is worth every penny.
      I can't say that I am surprised. However, I have heard others say that the audible difference between the RC1070 preamp & the RC1082 is negligible at best. Thus, some folks use the RC1070 with the RB1080 power amp to save a few bucks. I'm curious.

Comment

• miner
        • Mar 2005

I had a RC-1070 before I upgraded to the RC-1090. I was very pleased with the RC-1070. I upgraded due to teh MC phono stage on the pre - the RC-1-070 had the MM stage only. I use the RC-1070 & RB-1070 in the BR now. It is a very capable and enlightening setup. You an get a used RC-1070 f0r $300.

Comment

• hifiguymi
          Super Senior Member
          • Mar 2007

Originally posted by kitjv
          I had the opportunity yesterday to audition a pair of Paradigm Studio 100s with the Rotel RC1070/RB1070 preamp & power amp combination. My ears were very pleased. However, I am curious about the audible difference that the Rotel RC1082/RB1080 would make with these same speakers. Or maybe going with the RC1070 & the RB1080? As a newbie, I really appreciate all of your help. THANK YOU.