X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • frisco64
    • Jan 2006

Any problems with RB-1080?

I am new to the Rotel sound, but from what I have heard so far, I am impressed. I intend to purchase an RB-1080 with RC-1070 Pre. Are there any inherent issues plaguing the RB-1080? ;x(
  • Kevin D
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Oct 2002

There's a fuse blowing issue that can happen with certain speakers (seems random) and using the 12v trigger.

Rotel believes they have fixed the issue (I've only seen one report of it on ones that have the fix). If you want to be sure, get a new one and verify that the fix has been applied. In reality though, you have a 99.5% chance of not having a problem.

Kevin D.

Comment

• BWzes03
      • Oct 2005

I second that, I've been running the RB-1080 using the 12v trigger for some 3 months now and having no problems what so ever.
      The previous owner of the amp used to run tests on different DIY speakers, with many different loads put onto the amp. ranging from light (8 ohm nominal) to very difficult loads (down to 2 Ohm on some frequencies). Still, this amp does not break.
      There are some units that have problems, but they are few and far between.

If you do purchase the RB-1080, do make sure you keep it well ventilated, as this machine does run hotter then expected.

Comment

• DL86
        • Sep 2005

My rb-1080 runs perfect. No problems what so ever. Just make sure it has the dual binding posts on the back for each speaker output. And that it is a V3 model.

Comment

• gymguymass
          • May 2004

Hi. I have owned both the RC1070 and RB1080 without incident. The amp has performed flawlessy for me since I purchased it in May 2004. I do not use the 12v trigger as I learned of potential issues with this connection through this forum. I leave my amp on all the time. While the top of amp does get warm, it is not uncomfortable to touch.

Comment

• frisco64
            • Jan 2006