X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ajpoe
    • Jul 2004

B&K Ref 50

I see that there isn't much activity here so I thought I'd throw this out there and see if may be some different readers have some opinions to offer. I posted a similar thread on the general HT forum prior to doing as much research. I've read in previous posts about the issues with the popping and clicking. My dealer explained it to me and showed me exactly what happens via one of B&Ks better receivers. They don't have a Ref 50 set up in their showroom so it had to do. It can be annoying, but I think I could live with it. I am new to separates as I am currently running an Onkyo TX-SR800. I just purchased a Rotel 1075 yesterday to power my Paradigm Studio 60s, CC-470 and ADP-470s which is a huge improvement. My Onkyo is now functioning as the processor, which I hope to replace soon. I am looking at the Rotel 1068 and the B&K Ref 50. The Rotel only has 2 optical inputs which I'd prefer to have more since I could potentially use 4, otherwise I'd have to switch some optical cables to digital coaxil... it is also lacking hardware upgradability and the Ref 50 has a very very nice remote. Now that the Ref 50 is at $1999 msrp, I'm leaning that direction. BUT, does anyone know how well the pops and clicks issues have been addressed since the posts back in December? Also, are you still having issues with satellite and DD and the optical input issues? I have Directv and use optical from my HD receiver so I'd want to make sure before purchasing such expensive equipment. I have also found a Rotel 1098 that I could get gently used for around $2200 (and no tax). I have negociated the Ref 50 down to around $1700 b4 taxes from my dealer... I'm basically trying to decide which processor will provide me the most bang for my buck and have the least amount of issues. What are your opinions?
    AJPoe - - Growing old is inevitable, growing up is optional!
  • boe
    • Jul 2004