X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • britrover
    • Sep 2005

Suggestions for HT Surround Sound Processor

I’m looking to add a separate Surround processor for my HT set up. Currently my fronts L + R are powered by McIntosh MC 7200, the center channel and surrounds + subwoofer are hooked into the Harman Kardon AVR 235. The HK is acting as a part processor and part amp as well.

I’m just beginning to look at processors and so far have B&K and Rotel on my list……………any suggestions on other brands I should look at also I listen to a lot of music so would like something that matches well with my McIntosh. I do want to get a processor that has 7.1 capabilities and can be used with SACD and DVD A

Any direction / suggestions would be much appreciated
  • Azeke
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2003

What is your SSP budget?

Regards,

Azeke

Comment

• aud19
      Twin Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2003

Yeah budget will go a LONG way of dictating which pre/pro to get. Though frankly with things like HDMI switching, room correction, new Dolby formats etc coming out... I'd likely stick to a "budget" pre from the likes of Outlow, Rotel, Sherwood Newcastle, Nad etc. until those features arrive on the next generation units.
      Jason

Comment

• Shane Martin
        Super Senior Member
        • Apr 2001

Aud,
        The Sherwood has HDMI switching(coming via an external HDMI box) and Room Correction. Easy choice there.

Another interesting choice is the Arcam which runs around $2100 US. I assumed that when you mentioned the B&K and Rotel, you were in that range.

Comment

• britrover
          • Sep 2005

Range is up to $2.5K. I'm keen on getting a musical processor that is warm sounding ,pairs well with my McIntosh amplifier and also sounds good for HT.

Comment

• aud19
            Twin Moderator Emeritus
            • Aug 2003