X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • snwbdr94
    • Nov 2009

Statement Center Build

Long story short, I moved to CO from MN in 07 and decided to move back early June due to some situations. Two weeks ago, I have been looking at some receivers and speakers. When I was looking up speakers, I got curious on all the DIY stuff. After reading this forum for a couple days, I decided I wanted to build the statements starting with the center. Not sure why the center, but thats what I did. It just seemed like it was easy enough for me to do. One problem was I've never worked with wood before! That was only a little bit of a roadblock.

Off to the store I go. Bought a table saw, router, some bits, jasper jigs, lots of clamps, and 3/4" mdf along with 1/2". Went online and bought the required components for the crossover as well as the two woofers, ribbon, and midrange.

Mind you, this all happened in a 2-3 day time span. I started to have a little remorse since I've never have done anything like this before. I called up a friend of mine who could show me how to safely operate everything and help me make the cuts.

Once the cuts were done, I had waited another couple days since I didn't know where to go from there. I was a little hesitant on gluing due to once I start gluing theres no turning back. Finally got the nerve up one night to glue the 1/2" with the 3/4" for the front baffle. What a relief that was knowing that it held together really well. I ended up going into a frenzy wanting to get everything done staying up till 1 in the morning and having to wake back up by 5:30 for work.