X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Danbry39
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Sep 2002

Help on setting up for DVDA

Just bought my first DVDA, Vivaldi's Four Seasons, and need to know how to set up the Rotel 1066. Denon 1600 DVD player to output DVDA. Right now, I've placed the disc in the 1600 and sound seems to come out of all speakers after I pushed the Multi Imput button on the Rotel's front panel. The display reads "Optical" though. Aren't DVDA's supposed to be run through the 6 channel analog connects. I've attached the six cables and sound is coming out of all speakers, but I wonder if there is something I have to do with the Rotel or Denon to play via the analog connects. Excuse my ignorance please as I've never used DVDA or SACD before.

Keith
    Keith
  • jaakan
    • Dec 2002

Multi logo should be lite up on the rotel.

Did you set up your DVDA player to output DVDA and not down mix it or not output put it at all?

Go into the Denons setup menu and look at you settings.

Comment

• Danbry39
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Sep 2002

Thanks Jaakan,

The display does read multi and it flashes 96 Mhz across the screen when I play it (as opposed to Dolby Digital), so I guess it probably is playing DVDA. On this first recording of mine, the front channels are supposed to carry the major role, while the rear channels are there for the ambiance of the hall the recording was made in. Sound is being carried to all channels. Not having used DVDA before and with the disc carrying so many different formats, I just wanted to know I was listening to DVDA, as opposed to say Dolby Digital. I guess I was thrown by Optical being on the display.

Keith
      Keith

Comment

• bigkid
        • Feb 2003

Hi Danbry,