X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • paul2102
    • Jul 2003

RSP-1066/RMB-1075 Loud Pop - Amp cooked

I have been enjoying my Rotel setup for 8 years. A few month ago, when I powered up my system to listen to music, I heard a loud pop, then smelled smoke coming from the 1075. One of my rear speakers was no longer working.

I finally go around to sending it off to Rotel for repair, but since it was out of warranty, I took a look inside to see if there was anything obvious first. There was a blown fuse, which I replace (with the same value) to see if that was all that was wrong. Plugged it in, powered up, and smoke came pouring out of it. I then noticed a few burnt resisters. So off to local Rotel repair center it went.

Several transistors and resistors need to be replaced, the bill over $300.

Does anyone know why something like this would suddenly happen, after running perfectly for 8 years? There were times when I hadn't used it for months because of an illness, but whenever I needed it, it always provided great sound and lots of enjoyment. I chose Rotel because of their high quality, but I have other amps. that are pushing 30 years and still working without any problems. Any precautions that I could take to keep this from happening again is appreciated.
  • madmac
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2010