X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • csturnbull
    • May 2007

RCD 865 help required

I have just saved a Rotel RCD865 CD Player and a RA810A Amplifier from the skip. A customer of mine asked me to bin them on my way home but curiosity got the better of me and I took it home, connected it up and what a surprise! It is now staying put!
    Just a couple of things:
    1) The headphones when plugged in don't cut out the speakers(am I missing something?)

2) On rare occassions the cd jumps a bit. Is this serious or can I do something?

Sorry if these are elementary things but I have no knowledge of audio so all help is appreciated. I just cannot bring myself to scrap thes items.

Thanks
    Clive
  • hifiguymi
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2007

No you're not missing anything. There are quite a few amps that shut off the speaker outputs when headphones are plugged in. Headphone need an amp to drive them so most companies don't add a second amp just for the headphones, they use the one already there.

The laser in the CD player is probably weak due to age. It's more of annoyance than anything. If it gets really bad you'll have to get the laser fixed/replaced. Because it is old, there may not be parts available so you'll have to find out when that time comes.

Eric

Comment

• csturnbull
      • May 2007

Eric
      Many thanks, I have been using it throughout the day and now the skipping seems to have disappeared. Could it have been that it has been lying in a garage for a couple of years and not used? Not bothered about the headphones so all in all I am happy. Any idea about it's date of manufacture?
      Thanks again
      Regards
      Clive

Comment

• gd
        • Jan 2003

It's probably about 15-17 years old.

The laser section might need nothing more than a light cleaning... but as noted, it is elderly and could die sooner rather than later.