X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mitch57
    • Nov 2004

Rotel RMB-1095 Specification inaccuracy

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this forum but thought I would post one of my concerns to see what all of you had to say. I just purchased the RMB-1095 last week. Great sounding amp paired with my Def Techs and Denon 3805.

However, I have one concern which Rotel doesn't seem to want to address. I am sure many of you are aware that the manual for the 1095 incorrectly states the "Power Consumption" as being 800 Watts instead of 1200 Watts. Initially I wasn't to concerned about this until I actually got the amp home and took it out of the box. Right there on the back of the amp etched in the "Power Consumption" block was the same error "Power Consumption" 800 Watts!

Rotel acknowledges the error in the manual. They told me they have no plans to issue an addendum to the manual or post any updated information on the web site. I pointed this out to Tech support and told him the same thing. I said I wouldn't even question it if the amp itself had the correct information. But when both the amp and the manual say the same thing I became somewhat suspect. He said he emailed Rotel and is awaiting an answer. That was last Thursday. I haven't heard back yet. I emailed Rotel tech support so I assume he must have emailed the engineers.

Here's my concern. Down the road when I upgrade my system and try to sell the amp claiming it's rated power is 200 Watts X 5 the potential buyer could question the fact that both the manual and the amp state it's "Power Consumption" is 800 Watts.

How can an amp consume 800 Watts of power and out put 1000 Watts? Why would they not want to correct this problem? What does that say about their Quality Control practices?

Has anyone else questioned Rotel on this issue?
    Mitch
    :stupidpc:
  • aarsoe
    • May 2004

I am not saying the 800 watt is correct, but if it is, then there would be no way that the 1095 could deliver 5x200w.