X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • brishea
    • Jun 2007

Amp for 802

It's my first time in this forum and I need help.
    I'm planning to change my system which consists of 4 603s3's and lcr600 to 802d's fronts, htm1d center, and 804's rear. I am planning to bi-amp the fronts and centers but not the rears. I was debating between the classe 3200 for the fronts and centers and classe 2200 for the rears or the bryston 6bsst for the fronts and center and 4bsst for the rears. Planned pre-amp/processor is anthem d2. Please offer suggestions and any input will be most welcome.
  • misterdoggy
    Super Senior Member
    • May 2005

Welcome to the land of many opinons on the subject. Why Bi-amp ? Why different brands ?

I've heard from many posters that Classe goes well with B&W so you should be OK.

Once again Big Welcome :banana: :banana:

Comment

• jack d
      • Sep 2006

There are a lot of threads on this subject. Around here I think it's safe to say that Classe and Mac amps and processors are the consensus favorites to go with the 800 series. There are some other variations (like Bryston) that some like as well which I'm sure you will discover as you read through the threads.

FWIW, I have exactly the speaker combination that you are contemplating. I use a Meridian G68 processor and five Mac 501 monoblocs for amplification. I love it.

Yeah, why passive bi-amp? Just get at least 400wpc of quality power to the front three and you will be good to go. The 802s really sing with enough power. Don't skimp.

Comment

• brishea
        • Jun 2007

Originally posted by jack d
        There are a lot of threads on this subject. Around here I think it's safe to say that Classe and Mac amps and processors are the consensus favorites to go with the 800 series. There are some other variations (like Bryston) that some like as well which I'm sure you will discover as you read through the threads.