This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tboooe
    • Jun 2005

All else being equal, what makes the most difference, electronics or speakers

Hi, I recently heard the 802D paired with Ayre preamp and amp. The results were amazing! So of course this got me thinking about upgrading from my Parasound + 804S setup which got me thinking about if I should upgrade the electronics or speakers first. Then I started to think if I really needed to upgrade both the speakers and electronics. Which leads me to my question. All else being equal, do the electronics or speaker make the most difference? Can I get 90% of the sound reproduction I heard with the 802D + Ayre setup without having to replace my entire setup? Obviously for the sake of my wallet and marriage, I would much rather only upgrade one or the other (speaker or electronics). Thanks in advance.
  • grit
    • Jan 2005

I'm no expert, but I'm gonna say "synergy" is what makes the biggest difference. At a certain point though, you max out the capabilities of your equipment and it's time to upgrade. The obvious test at this point is to take your parasound amp and test it on 802Ds (or similar) and test the Ayre on 804's. Also, dont forget to take into account the listening environment, which I've found can make a big difference.

Comment

• PavelL
      • Sep 2005

I believe EVERYTHING matters. But speakers always come first. Then the speakers of your choice must be driven properly. And here comes the electronics part. Speaking of 800 series that have a very wide dispersion /originally designed for larger rooms/ first reflections must be adressed. That is if you are after pin-point imaging and do not have a ballroom to place 802Ds in. So room treatment comes to play. And so on. If you buy otherwise good speakers with narrow dispersion you may get better imaging in smaller rooms, but you will only get it in a "sweet spot"....