X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • sparky0173
    • Sep 2008

Most bang for your upgrade buck?

First off, let me declare that I'm a complete NOOB when it comes to high end sound equipment. I was hoping to get some sound advice from the more seasoned veterans on the best upgrade path.

I've been listening to 2 channel music from my B&W DM601 S3's powered by my humble Denon AVR-1802 and sourced from a Toshiba SD-6200 DVD player for some time. Now that I have just a bit more disposable income, I'm interested in hearing music closer to its intended sound. I know that any equipment upgrade would likely produce better music, but for $1000, where should my money be spent? Would higher quality speakers make more of difference than higher quality electronics? The way I see it, I could replace my speakers and use the same receiver or keep the speakers and invest in new a new amp or CD player or even a combination of the two.

I don't like upgrading for the sake of having the newest system around. What I ultimately want is tangible quality at a reasonable value. To that end, I don't mind used equipment as long as it was well taken care of. What are your thoughts? Any feedback would be GREATLY appreciated!
  • Bob
    • Jul 2000

The key here, IMHO, is the $1000. You need to upgrade your entire system in order to get a 2 channel system that will satisfy you for years. You simply can't do that for $1000. A satisfying 2 channel system has always been expensive, at least in my lifetime of 60 years.

So, where do you start? I would suggest one of two things that would be a immediate improvement. However, only one of them would be future proof.

The first is, buy a I-pod and the best docking station/DAC you can afford. Nobody needs a cd player anymore. Not only will it outperform you player it can go everywhere with you. Hooks up to your car, earplugs, most hotel radios, etc. But, like all sources, you will always be upgrading it.