X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • joe_s
    • Mar 2005

Use of 800D and/or 802D in mix H/T 5 Ch Audio, and Amplifer Perspectives

I'm at a point in life (pretty old) where I hope to make a "final" configuration choice in a audio / video solution. It's also my first venture out of the realm of "receivers" so a lot of new ground and a very different level of investment. Roughly a year ago, i had somewhat decided on B&W, especially the 802 models, and the HTM1 as the center channel option but wanted to wait for the new models, which are now at hand.

My room is 26 feet by 17.5 feet by 9.5 foot ceiling. Use will be roughly 50-50 music and home theater / TV.

Input requested on 800D vs 802D for the front left and right. HTM1D vs HTM2D as the center. For rears / surround, I'm torn between 5.1 with two full range speakers for both H/T and multi-channel audio, or a 7.1 setup, probably with the DS8S and SCMS.

Input also requested on amplification and processor. Complete novice here, but have preliminarily reviewed (not yet heard) the new Classe delta and McIntosh. In the Classe line, it would probably be CA2200 / CA M400 and in McIntosh the MC501 and MC402. I'd like perspective on these and their corresponding matching prepro (SSP600 and CX135 I think). I'm willing to consider other alternatives if I'm missing the boat here, but at some point soon I'll need to be done with the research and move on with the decision, hopefully with no major mistakes given the cost involved.

Any insights on matching to a subwoofer for H/T (new B&W 875 or other ?), or even if a subwoofer would be necessary with these speaker and amplifier choices. Last item, recommendations for cables for these combinations of speakers / electronics ?

Thanks.
  • js24
    • Feb 2005

if you think this is your "final" system, don't hold anything back. Go for the best of best - 800D + MC501