X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Brahma
    • Jun 2005

Just auditioned 800D's

It was only a 20 minute session, using a McIntosh MC402. Source material was a test CD called Highway 1.

Simply sensational is all I can say, par-excellence and unequivocally the best sounding speakers I've ever heard.

Without getting into an in depth analysis, (an emotive experience can only be put into so many words and I'm not a proffesional reviewer), I found the sound stage to have a precision and expansiveness and height to it that left me wondering about the marvels of true Hi-Fi that a recorded sound image can be reproduced so flawlessly.

Larger than life sums it up. Bass wise I would have liked to hear a bit more, as I'm used to having my chest thump - but these speakers probably produce more of a natural bass than my ear is used anyway, also the room wasn't ideal for a stable bass floor. Tweeter sweet sweet sweet all the way.

Closing my eyes and forgetting momentarily that there were in fact speakers there and not a live performance took no effort of imagination.

So if this is what a $35k set of speakers sounds like, then I'm proceeding with my plans for a purchase.
    Brahma
  • weijst
    • Jun 2004

I demo-ed the 800Ds last saturday. They were hooked up to two Marantz MA-9S1 amplifiers and the source was a Marantz SA11-S11.

Let me start out by saying all frequencies came out beautifully. The highs were by no means too bright, the mids were clear and flawless (limited only by the quality of the recording) and the bass was tight and accurate.