Component and composite cable Q's. Please lend me a hand.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • andyraines
    • Feb 2006

Component and composite cable Q's. Please lend me a hand.

I am very new to HT systems, so you'll have to forgive me.

I recently purchased a new TV and HT system. I was looking for a DVD player when I ran into this problem:

The TV has component inputs, but my HT receiver has no component outs. Do I have to use the receiver's video monitor (RCA video cable from the DVD player, to the receiver, back out to the TV), or can I go straight from the DVD player to the TV with component wires? I would still obviously hook up the audio through the receiver. If this is possible, could someone recommend a good DVD player also?

Thanks
  • dyazdani
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Oct 2005

I would run component video directly from your DVD player to your TV.

What price range of DVD player are you looking into?
    Danish

Comment

• andyraines
      • Feb 2006

Ok, so I don't need to run video through the receiver at all?

I'd like to keep the DVD player around $100. I have coax, optical, and 5.1 multichannel to connect to. What is the best audio option?

Comment

• Lex
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Apr 2001

Andy, you may need to hook a composite video cable from receiver to TV just for using the on screen adjustments for your receiver. IF it is designed that way, or some people use an S-video feed for this from DVD to receiver, then receiver to TV, but also hook component vid up direct from DVD to TV, or from satellite receiver to TV for example. So, if your adjusting, then you use the less quality feed, if you are watching a DVD, you flip to component.