Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Browncoat
    • Oct 2016

Bought a Speedster kit. Now what?

I'm a complete newbie to DIY, I don't know much about hifi, and I don't have an electronics background. What could possibly go wrong?

Anyways, I cracked open my Speedster kit, and I have a couple questions (if these are really stupid questions, feel free to point and laugh )
    • If I'm reading the components correctly, the kit includes 2x 100 Ohm resistors, but I was expecting 2x 10 Ohm. Am I off in the weeds?
    • The kit has 2x 2.7uF caps, but the crossover specifies 2.2uF. Is that difference significant?
    • Two of the four 4.7uF caps are Audyn Q4, and the other two are Bennic XPP. Does it matter which goes where?
    • How sensitive is cabinet volume? For example, if I add some tack strips for a removable front or back, do I need to calculate the volume of those strips and adjust the cabinet size accordingly?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4292.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	872073

Thanks for your advice!
  • Bill Schneider
    • Sep 2007

Things do go wrong, and I think you have valid concerns about some of the issues. 100 ohm vs 10 ohm is significant. The cap difference of 2.7uF vs. 2.2 uF is over 20 percent, and that's too much.

I'd contact the supplier and express your concerns. I'm sure it's just human error. It's fortunate that you went through the contents to find this.

About volume - I'd feel comfortable within 10 percent of the specified volume, but if you can do the math, there's no reason not to make accommodations for things that might change it. Just keep the baffle width the same as the design, and keep the driver position as specified. It's usually safe to go deeper with a box when you need more volume.
    My audio projects:
    http://www.afterness.com/audio

Comment

• Browncoat
      • Oct 2016

Cool, thanks for the advice! I emailed the supplier about the components, so hopefully I can get those straightened out soon.