Are RSP-1066 & RMB-1075's power cords 15 amps?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wng
    • Dec 2002

Are RSP-1066 & RMB-1075's power cords 15 amps?

Hi all,

I just ordered the high-current, 15-amp version of the PS Audio Ultimate Outlet power conditioner. I'm quite sure the power cords supplied with the Rotel pre/pro and the amp (and my Arcam CD player, if anyone knows) are 15-amp cords, but I just want some confirmation. Thanks.
  • TonyPTX
    • Apr 2003

I don't think you're going to get any bites on this thread. I'm not an expert in these matters, however I recently purchased a MagicPower Power Cord from SignalCable that was rated for 15AMPs and it puts the Rotel cord to shame. Not saying that the Rotel cord isnt' capable of 15AMPs, that's just a matter of determining the AWG used in the cord and calculating it from there. Plus, I'm not sure if the connectors on the Rotel cord are rated for 15A.

"Those that don't know, don't know they don't know."
    "Those that don't know, don't know they don't know."

Comment

• Ron Reda
      • Jan 2003

TonyPTX or whomever,

How much did this cord cost? I was looking into replacing the standard 1066 power cord, but don't know where to start. Has anybody else checked into this?

Comment

• greggz
        • Jun 2002

If by "15 amp" cords do you mean, "are the Rotel cords 14 ga wire?" I believe that they are 18 ga. at best.

One of these days I'm planning on ordering some Marinco/Wattgate plugs from Parts Express and build my own 14 ga cables for my pre/pro, amp and sub. I dont really plan on using anything fancier than SWOOJ or THHN 14ga cable.

Gregg
        Gregg

Our Home Theater

Comment

• george king
          • Dec 2000