X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • alkaline6
    • Nov 2003

RSP-1068 setup

I've been using my RSP-1068 for about 5 months now. I would like to try tweaking my setup but am not sure where to start. I am using B&W 703 / HTM7 / DS7 speakers. My current configuration includes the following:
    - all speakers are set to small with the crossover freq. of 60 / 60 / 100 hz. where the speaker freq. ranges are 38 - 25 K / 50 - 25 K / 80 - 22 K respectively

My listening habits are:
    - DVD's
    - LP's in stereo bypass mode
    - CD's in 2-ch stereo mode
    - SACD / DVD-A in MultiInput mode

I would like to accomplish the following:
    - DVD's are great
    - CD's / LP's - pump up the bass
    - SACD / DVD-A - the MultiInput calibration for the DVD player cannot set the bass level high enough. Can this be compensated for with the RSP-1068?

Thanks in advance.

Don
  • Aussie Geoff
    Super Senior Member
    • Oct 2003

Alkaline6,
    SACD / DVD-A - the MultiInput calibration for the DVD player cannot set the bass level high enough. Can this be compensated for with the RSP-1068?
    Yes in the SUBWOOFER set-up menu you can vary the subwoofer up or down up to 9 db for the Multi-imput as well as other sound modes.

CD's / LP's - pump up the bass
    If you use bypass (no sub) you can't since the stereo sound is untouched. However if you use any mode that digitises the sound (e.g. STEREO) then you can also vary the bass by the same technque of the SUBWOFFER set-up menu.

Geoff

Comment

• aud19
      Twin Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2003

Just to add to what Geoff said, if you do digitize you will be able to add some bass but will lose some fidelity in the additional A/D conversion.

Jason
      Jason

Comment

• CWD
        • Mar 2004

A few things to consider...

For SACD/DVD-A, the universal player controls the bass management (or lack thereof) when feeding the multi-input.