X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tempest
    • May 2004

Newbie needs help - Rotel quality driving me nuts

Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie hear looking for some help and encauragement. I purchased a Rotel RSX 1055 receiver just before Christmas. All was fine until about 2 or 3 months ago. One morning after turning on my home theater the front left speaker started popping loudly. To the point where I was scared it would damage the speaker. It popped so load it scared my wife.

I brought the unit to Century Stereo (authorized dealer who I purchased from) and was given good service to ship the unit back to Rotel to figure out what was wrong. I was already dissapointed by the fact that the unit was not working and then even more when they told me it would be 3-4 weeks to get it back.

4 weeks later the unit made it back and I happily paid for the shipping. Its been working fine for the past 6 weeks until this morning when AGAIN the same symtoms occured. Loud popping from the left front channel. Rotel supposedly changed the left front connector, but obviously it either needed something else, or theres something that is causing it to malfuntion over time.

Anyone else experience something like this before?

Obviously I'm furious over the quality. I purchased a Rotel product because of the supposed quality. While one problem can be a fluke, and nothing is ever perfect, having the issue once I really expected it to be fixed properly. Are we noticing a gradual decline in Rotel's quality in general?

Thanks for reading.
    Tom
  • Andrew Pratt
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Tom email me and I'll pass your info onto someone at Rotel that will fix your problem.

Comment

• Bob Knarly
      • Mar 2004