X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • richmaxmi
    • Oct 2014

Bi-wiring worthwhile?

As you may have seen from previous posts, I am upgrading...

I notice that my speaker cables are 16/4 which means they could be bi-wired with the mere addition of some new banana plugs. With my budget Rotel set up, is this likely to have any advantage? I like the neutral and laid-back sound of my setup but feel (I'm no expert though) that separation could be improved. I have a used Rotel power amp coming which I suspect will make more of a difference. My speakers are bi-wirable and floor stand 7cm from the wall (mainly for convenience with my young son around).
  • madmac
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2010

I think there are many more important factors in a good audio system setup that can affect it's sound quality than bi-wiring. I personally don't think there is anything wrong with it per se, but I don't think that it will necessarily blow your mind with superior audio performance either.

If you are looking for improved separation, I would experiment with speaker choice, placement and setup above bi-wiring.
    Dan Madden :T

Comment

• richmaxmi
      • Oct 2014

Thank you. I have reconnected my cables as I hadn't done for a while and am now trying some speaker adjustments as you suggested.

Comment

• madmac
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Aug 2010

Originally posted by richmaxmi
        Thank you. I have reconnected my cables as I hadn't done for a while and am now trying some speaker adjustments as you suggested.
        Have fun!. Small adjustments in speaker placement and 'toe in' angles can have a HUGE effect on their sound!

Comment

• richmaxmi
          • Oct 2014

'Toe-in angles'? Interesting as I always assumed speakers should be squared off. I shall experiment. I presume having one of my speakers between a bookcase and the corner of the wall is not ideal?

Comment

• madmac
            Moderator Emeritus
            • Aug 2010