My first rotel product (tuner). need computer IO help.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • c3lica
    • Oct 2008

My first rotel product (tuner). need computer IO help.

I just bought a Rotel rt1080. This is my first rotel product ever. My question is how do I use the IO Port. Can I just hook it up to my switch and access it like a router via http (I highly doubt this is in fact the way to do so). I am going to college for computer science so I would like to write a program to control it. I contacted Rotel but have not herd back yet. I have no idea how to hook it up and control is so any and all information is helpful.

Also, is there anything I should know/do in regards to my new tuner. I am very new to high end audio.

EDIT:
    have been doing some searching and found that ethernet will not work... it is a rs232 with rj45 jack. i am reading the rotel documentation so that shouldn't be a prob but if you have any tip they would still be appreciated.
  • Kevin D
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Oct 2002

Should be able to look at the program posted here to get some ideas:

It will control the RT-1080 and includes the source code.

Kevin D.

Comment

• c3lica
      • Oct 2008

ahhh thanks, I saw that post but missed the code. that will same me lots of work.

Comment

• PiDD
        • Aug 2003

Have you ever used Girder... It has a serial interface. I only mention it because you sound like someone that likes to play with this stuff.

Comment

• c3lica
          • Oct 2008

I have not used it but I will deff check it out. For now I am trying to convert the VB6 code provided above to vb 2008.

Comment

Working...
          Searching...Please wait.
          An unexpected error was returned: 'Your submission could not be processed because you have logged in since the previous page was loaded.

Please push the back button and reload the previous window.'