X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Stephan
    • Apr 2006

Disappointing PQ on RDV-1050

I recently got a great deal on an RSX-1056 and an RDV-1050. I'm totally satisfied with the receiver but the picture quality produced by the DVD-player is a real bummer. I have the european version and use a scart cable to connect the player to an RGB input on my Sony CRT. I also tried the S-Video cable with pretty much the same result. The picture on my 4 year old Pioneer DV-350 is way better. Did I get a lemon? Please share your experience.
  • foeth
    • Apr 2006

You may want to try component video. I switched from scart (plus tuner, I admit for the plasma) to component and the quality was much better. I have no experience with that particular player though,

Comment

• Stephan
      • Apr 2006

Hi foeth,

Thanks for your reply. I don't think it will work for me though. My tv can't handle component signal. :cry:

Comment

• sirbogey
        • Mar 2006

did you try S-Video? I own the RDV1060, the picture quality is very similar and should be excellent. Try hooking it up to a differen TV as well.

Comment

• Stephan
          • Apr 2006

Hi sirbogey,

Did you do a comparison to the 1050? For all I know the 1060 has a 12 bit/54 Mhz video-DAC while the 1050 has a 10 bit/27Mhz. Therefore I doubt that the pq is the same on both machines.

Comment

• sirbogey
            • Mar 2006

You might be right. I haven't compared it myself with my own gear, but I saw the 1050 at a friends' place. He had it hooked up to a projector, like I do, and the quality was the same. We both use S-Video. To test stuff, I sometimes buy very cheap gear (around $100) on ebay, compare it to mine and sell it on. Why don't you take your 1050 to a friend's house and hook it up to his/her TV or borrow another DVD Player. Alternatively, bring it to any dealer to run a quick check.