X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Nolan B
    Super Senior Member
    • Sep 2005

Got my New RDV 1060

After many questions and comparisons I got the RDV 1060 today. I'm not experienced in writting reviews, but I am going to try my best to answer the questions for you that i was asking before deciding on the RDV 1060.

I found it hard to find what other dvd players the RDV 1060 compared too (especially denon) when looking online, but thanks to the info from my dealer and listening here is what I found.

Sonically compared to the Denon 2910 and 3910 the RDV 1060 is better. Definately better then the 2910, and arguably equal to or better then the 3910.

As far as video quality the 3910 is a hair better, but since I use a DVDO iscan HD to do the de-interlacing my RDV 1060/iScan HD smokes the 3910, but that my not be very relavent to many others.

I will post a picture soon, but I have to say that the thing looks spectacular sitting in my Bang and Olufson AV rach which is made of black rubber and Stainless steel, next to my black B&W FPMs....its amazing. The DVD A which im listening to now is much better then I hopped for, but for some reason the player freezes and creates pink noise on some menues...Im thinking that maybe its due to multi channel not being supported on some ares of the disc!?!?

I know this is more of an audiophile forum, but I have said it once and ill say it again...the equipment should look as good as it sounds, and ill happily pay extra for that.

One questions. I am using the cheap analog interconnects that came with it for DVD A...Most feel cables are mainly snake oil, but I have read that good interconnects for DVD A can make a difference...true?

Cheers, thanks for your help making the decision.
  • Kevin D
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Oct 2002