X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • charles17
    • Oct 2005

Rotel & Denon

Hi,

I love good sound in 2 channel. My HT system must be great to listen to music and great for watching movie - in that order of priority.

At present I have a Denon 1602 surround amp that I never listen to music, but is fine for movies. I want to remedy my not listening to music, so am planning to upgrade my amp.

Reviews on Denon 2805 are rave, but I do love Rotel sound and am also looking at the Rotel RSX 1056.

As a newbie, I would value input from both sides! Does anyone have experience of both?

Thanks a lot.
  • PewterTA
    • Nov 2004

Denon (IMO) sucks for 2ch listening. They are absolutely terrible for that. Great for HT, but not for listening. The Rotel will blow you away for 2ch listening. Along with getting a good CD player as well! But you will instantly notice the difference with the RSX-1056. If you are going to do the upgrade, I'd highly recommend something more like the RSP-1068/98 and RMB-1075/95-1070/80 combination. The 1068/98 are even better for 2ch listening than the 1056.
    Digital Audio makes me Happy.
    -Dan

Comment

• eelco74
      • Dec 2002

I have had a Denon 3801 and tried the 3803. Both were prettty bad in Stereo.

The 1056 will sound way better in Stereo. The difference in 6.1 will be less obvious. However the overall soundstage is better. With the Denon I had sound coming from 5 speakers. With my 1068 I sit in the middle of the sound and the speakers placement is less obvious.
      Marantz AV8802, Marantz UD8002, Rotel RB-991 and RB985mkii, Rotel RD960
      Focal/Jmlab Electra 1028S, Electra CC, Electra SW1000S, Cobalt 705
      Pioneer KRL-37V, Epson EH-TW8100, Kinkping CES-180 77"inch

Comment

• Nolan B
        Super Senior Member
        • Sep 2005

I had a denon 1905 and wen to a rotel rsx 1055. The difference was huge and something anyone could notice. 2 CH, and HT both inproved dramatically.

Comment

• charles17
          • Oct 2005