newbie question - new receiver or video switcher?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • zgeist
    • Oct 2003

newbie question - new receiver or video switcher?

First, I'm new to this HT thing - I *have* read lots of posts, but I'm still confused - so I thought I just ask. Second, I'm posting this in Club Rotel because one of the options I'm considering is the RSX-1055...

Basically, I'm getting a plasma tv and I'm trying to figure out how best to hook up everything I've got - 1) 'upgrade' my stereo receiver to a home theater receiver or 2) just get a video switcher. My main concerns are getting the best video from the new plasma, and getting the best sound from music cds (for the husband). I don't actually care that much about surround sound - and we currently only have two speakers - but I could try it out in the future.

Do you get better video if you don't go through a receiver but instead go straight to the tv? If you send video to the tv, and audio to the reciever, do you ever get out-of-sync problems? Is going through a video switcher any worse or the same as a receiver (specifically the RSX-1055 which is probably what I'd get)? I've read that you should use analog out if you want to use a devices internal DAC. So why did they bother putting a digital out on my Myryad T-10 cd player???

Basically I'm really confused and I'm hoping someone here will be kind enough to help! Here's my list o' gear:

Rotel RX-975 stereo receiver (which my husband and I love - he is somewhat reluctant to change our receiver - he's used to the one we have!) (only analog ins and outs)
    Myryad T-10 Cd player (analog and digital out)
    Pioneer DVD player DV-353 (component, S-video, composite video out; optical or analog audio out)
    Philips Standalone Tivo (S-Video out, analog audio)
    Playstation 2 (S-video - although I've heard you can upgrade this??)
    old VCR (composite)