2 Ch purists...what are my options? rc-1070 or ??

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tboooe
    • Jun 2005

2 Ch purists...what are my options? rc-1070 or ??

Hi, I am setting up a 2ch configuration. Right now I have b&w 805s, RB1080, and will be getting the RDC1072 and REL sub very soon. So my question is:

What preamp should I get? It seems that people think the RC-1070 is OK and the RC-1090 was better but it has been discontinued. Are there other brands I should consider? There have been some posts mentioning the Bryston. I am have done a pure 2ch setup before so I am a bit new to all of this.

Any advice or direction would be greatly appreciated.
  • DrJRapp
    Super Senior Member
    • Apr 2003

I've listened to the Parasound Halo P3 2 channel driving a Halo amp and Totem speakers. The Halo is very smooth and very quiet. Almost like it isn't there at all. Come to think of it...isn't that what we supposidly want? However, when listening to my 1098 push 2 channel thru my 1080 the sound is much more immediate and involving, an effect I often prefer for the type of program material I like. So many choices,I think that's what makes this hobby so exciting, and confusing.
    Jerry Rappaport

Comment

• Jeff
      • Dec 2004

One of the only things Adcom is making which I would buy is their model 750 pre amp. It has no bypass for HT so I couldn't purchase it. If I was to consider a separate pre/pro that would be on my short list. The 1090 is also a good choice.

Don't feel bad because the 1090 is discontinued. I'm sure there are still many in the hands of dealers. Heck, they may be willing to cut you a deal!

Jeff

Comment

• Energeezer
        • Sep 2002

I just went down this road.