X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • csloo
    • Jan 2005

Rotel RSX-1056 questions

Hi all,
    If i use external power amp for center & rear speaker on Rotel RSX-1056, will the main channels be 100w per channel? Since (allmost) all the current from the transformal will be supplied to these channels, will there be a problem driving 4 ohm speakers? I am getting a pair od mmg's soon.

Or, would it be advisible to use my Marantz MA500 or RB1050 to drive the mmg's?

Thanks in advance.
  • gianni
    • Nov 2002

As long as you don't try to get very high volume levels in a big room, 4 Ohms are no problem. I have been running 4 Ohm M&K speakers for 2 1/2 years with my RSX-1055 with no problems with very nice performance.

Comment

• Andrew Pratt
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

If you've got MA500's use them on the fronts not the centre or surrounds.

Comment

• weijst
        • Jun 2004

Originally posted by csloo
        ...If i use external power amp for center & rear speaker on Rotel RSX-1056, will the main channels be 100w per channel? Since (allmost) all the current from the transformal will be supplied to these channels...
        I asked a guy at tech support a simular question. My question was if the power output / channel would increase on my RMB-1075 when I use only 2 channels (2ch stereo / bypass mode). The answer was that the power output may increase a little to say 130 watts / channel (instead of 120 watts / channel when all channels are driven). Not something to get exited about...

However, in your situation (where the amps of the main channels are able to output 100 watts / channel in 2ch mode), I think your assumption is valid... Looking at the amplification section in your RSX-1056 the same 'main-amps' are used in 2ch as in and multichannel mode... So why would they not be able to output 100 watts / channel when the rest of the channels are not used (as is the case in 2ch mode)?