X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • qwerty
    • May 2003

Soon to be a member

Hi all,

Well, I've been deciding on my electronics for a few months now. It's been a roller coaster ride, from an HK receiver to a Rotel one. From a Rotel Separates to using an HK receiver as a pre/pro and adding an amp to it.

Then came yesterday, where a buddy of mine offered me a deal that I just couldn't pass up. It's more than what I had intenionally wanted to spend but I know I would have kicked myself if I didn't jump on it. Without further delay, I'm going to close the deal on an MC-8 today. This will be my first experience with separates and going "high end" in my books. I figured if your going to do something, do it right the first go around and I'll end up spending less in the long run upgrading.

I had a few questions for current Lex owners. What can I expect and what amp should I pair this baby up with. My friend mentioned the Sherbourn 7/2100 amps. How are they?

By the way, they'll be powering up B&W CDM 9NT's, 1NT's and a CNT (no sub yet).

Any comments/suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
  • Kevin_McC
    • Jan 2003

Qwerty,

I think you'll be pleased with your decision to go with Lexicon. I was in a similar situation over a year ago when John T and Ricky convinced me to upgrade from a Denon 3300 to the Lexicon MC-1 and I'm glad I did.

My system is used entirely for movies and in my opinion the Lexicon with Logic 7 is the leader in that area. It seems whenever I listen to other non logic 7 systems now I always feel something is missing. I use it(Logic 7) on all sources regardless.

I just traded my MC-1 for the MC-8, but I'm still waiting to get it so I haven't heard it yet. From what I've been reading and discussions with others the MC-8 will be a noticeable jump in performance over the MC-1, so I'm anxious to get it.