X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mike42
    • Nov 2015

AVR upgrade advice request for 4x B&W 705 + HTM7 + PV1

Hi

After almost 10 years it is time of an AVR update. Currently I'm using a Denon 3805, still without HDMI...

I'm interested in the new Pioneer SC-LX79, but my main questions are.
    - What is your opinion on adding the extra power and is it enough
    - Any experience with tone, warmth and liveliness when running a Pioneer on the B&W system

Other AVR suggestions are very welcome!
  • Audio_ElF
    • Oct 2007

What's your music/movie split? What's your budget?

In order of preference I would put AV systems, particularly taking music capability into account in the following order of preference...
    (1) Arcam
    (1.5) Rotel pre and power (1.5 as close to Arcam)
    (3) Marantz
    (4) Some Sony
    (6) Yamaha and Denon

I have no experience with Onkyo or Pioneer. If music is of lesser interest I would move the Yamaha and Denon up the list perhaps even above Marantz. While there are some variation and exceptions I find this hierarchy works at whatever price level you are looking at. I'm sure some of this is down to reputation and expectation and I have never blind tested but these are my experiences.

Personally at the level of the LX79 I would try to get a listen to the Marantz SR7010 or if you can stretch (and wait a little) check out the new Arcam AVR550. Also see if you can fit a Rotel RSP1572 into your budget perhaps with second hand amplification.

Comment

• madmac
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2010

Pioneer’s SC-79 may cost a pretty penny, but it’s worth every single one of them. This is one of the finest receivers Pioneer has ever produced, and it raises the bar for the rest of the industry.