X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BVoss
    • May 2009

B&W 805s w/ McIntosh

What are everyone's thoughts on the 805s w/ either the McIntosh 252 or the MC2102, 100-watt tube amp?

I'm considering both. Pros/cons?
  • htsteve
    Super Senior Member
    • Sep 2004

BVoss,

I have a MC252 powering 802D's and am very happy with it. The 252 delivers a tremendous amount of current. Excellent bass, supreme midrange and clear highs. The best features to me are that the music/sound is effortless and very smooth, as well as a HUGE soundstage, both depth and width. It does everything very, very well.

There is a thread in the B&W forum called 'What electronics should I get with my B&W speakers?'. On page 5 is a another user who got a 252 as well. Their description is quite accurate.

I have no extensive experience with Mac tube gear, so hopefully someone else will chime in.

A MC252 would be awesome for a set of 805S's. It would also be big enough to handle future speaker upgrades.

Hope this helps.

Comment

• Glenee
      • Aug 2006

I have had that exact same set-up with the MC252 and 805S it is a great combination. I would go for the MC252 for the future. I had a pair of MC501's paired with the B&W 802D's, one day I put the MC252 on the 802D's and at normal listening levels I prefered the MC252. Just a all aound wonderful Multi-Purpose Amp. The other thing about the MC252 is it's depth, it will fit in so many more places the other bigger McIntosh Amps can't.
      You Better Listen to HTSTEVE.

Comment

• htsteve
        Super Senior Member
        • Sep 2004

BVoss,

Forgot to add, the best thing to do is audition these combo's yourself, if that is possible. You ears are the best guide.

Comment

• BVoss
          • May 2009

Thanks for the responses, HTSteve and Glenee.