X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • garson
    • Jan 2009

Suggested A/V electronics for 685's?

Hi all, this seems to be the place for all things B&W! I know that there has been much written here on proper components for such-and-such (Classe, $8000 USD Denon, etc.), but I had trouble finding things within my budget.

I'm new to B&W speakers (sorry), but recently fell in love after years of auditioning Klipsch, James, Triad, Def Tech, PSB, et al. I'm also first time home theater that wants 685's all around. Music 80%, Movies 20%.

Any opinions on $2,000 USD A/V components for 5.1 situation? I'm open to integrated amp or receiver, but know that my ear much prefers warmth over pure transparency. From what I've read, I would prefer Arcam over Onkyo, and Denon over Sony (in the $2000 USD price range). But I am wondering if the world is larger than this? I know about the Rotel relationship, but did not want to assume that I must automatically focus only on Rotel. Any and all opinions and comments very much appreciated. Thanks.
  • Audio_ElF
    • Oct 2007

For 80% music I'd look at rotel, arcam , nad and possibly marantz.

Or look at a lower priced AV amp and add a stereo integrated to use with a CD player and other music sources.

Hope that helped. Of course best advice anyone can give is to get out and demo lit and find what YOU like.

Comment

• Dmantis
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Jun 2004

Check out Pioneer Elite The sc07 would be a perfect fit. Even the 05 will do.

Dan

Comment

• htsteve
        Super Senior Member
        • Sep 2004

Garson,

If you are not averse to buying used, some used Rotel separates would be a very nice place to start. And within your budget. For example:

amps: http://www.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls....lass-d-5-ch.-a

Pre-amps: http://www.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls....urr.-preamp-w/

You can also talk to dealers. They can keep an eye out for items within your budget.