X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • donkeymule
    • Mar 2008

B&W DM640 opinions

Does anyone on this board own , previously owned or have listened to B&W dm 640's? What is your impression of them? Strength's - weeknesses? Is $400 a good deal on these? I am new to B&W and thought I would seek the advice of the experienced.
  • auburnjunkie
    • Mar 2008

I used to own some DM 640i's. I was simply blown away by the quality of sound coming from these considering the age (not that it matters). I would say that they are easily on par with the DM 604 S1's. I have heard both and was equally impressed. I actually thought that the cabinet on the 640i's felt stronger than the 604. I would say that $400 is a good deal considering used 604 S1's go for around $550-600. The sound is not overpowering in any range and they actually image very well. The soundstage is very impressive for the price. Wish I had never gotten rid of them. If I could, I would buy the 640i's again. You better hope that I don't find that deal before you.

Comment

• donkeymule
      • Mar 2008

Thanks for the reply. I just picked up a pair on ebay an am exited! I will be using them for both music and in My HT setup. Did you ever run a center channel with them? What center channel would you recomend?

Comment

• auburnjunkie
        • Mar 2008

I used a B&W CC6 for a while with them and then a Polk CS350. The CC6 blended much better and provided a pretty solid timbre match despite it's smaller size. I would recommend any of the LCR or CC6's. They tend to work pretty well. Good luck with your new setup. It's hard to try anything else once you try B&W.

Comment

• donkeymule
          • Mar 2008

I got the DM 640's and all I can say is wow! I love these speakers. I am now sold on B&W.

Comment

• microbius
            • Feb 2009