X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gc8ej25
    • Nov 2007

Basic questions regarding B&W system

I plan on purchasing a B&W/Rotel setup and I'm a total noob so bear with me. I would like to acquire speakers and components as I go (as finances allow me) to ultimately end up with the following:

B&W 683
    B&W HTM62
    B&W 686
    B&W ASW608
    Rotel RSP-1069
    Rotel RB-1080
    Rotel RMB-1076

As of now, I have none of this and I need help choosing the order of buying the Rotel pieces and what I should buy for that matter. Should I start with the processor/amplifier combo, and if so, should I purchase the RB-1080 or RMB-1076 for the fronts? What is optimal power for the fronts? Should I start off with a receiver and add an amp later? I feel like a 100x7 amplifier would not be enough for the fronts, which is why I feel like I'd need to run 2 amps. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm totally lost.

Also, any recommendation on a CD player?
  • joetama
    • May 2006

Arcam CD73 would go nice in that setup...

Also, I would start out with the Loudspeakers (assuming you have something to drive them with now).

Also, are you planning on doing 5.1 or 7.1?

If you get the 7 channel amplifier and only run 5.1 you maybe could Bi-Amp the mains.

I personally would go the route of the RB-1080. I love mine.
    -Joe

Comment

• gc8ej25
      • Nov 2007

I might do 7.1 down the road for Dolby HD and DTS HD, but for the here and now, a 5.1. I wouldn't have anything to drive the 683s as I'm starting fresh. So I could potentially get a 100x7 amplifier and bi-amp 2 channels? Does that equate to 200 watts for those bi-amped channels? How would you go about doing that on, say, a RMB-1077?

Comment

• BassThatHz
        • Jul 2006

I think what you are talking about is amplifier bridging, which is not recommened because it increases distortions and not all amps support it.
        In a non-bridged configuration it would only be dual 100's, not 200; it doesn't add like that.