X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DarkZ
    • Mar 2007

XT Series Setup Questions

Hi Guys,

Another newbie just arrived, Been reading this forum for a while now, and finally I decided to buy the XT series, everything should be arriving in about a week, so I just want to have some questions cleared up before I start plugging things in , and here is my setup:

Front LR: XT4

Front Center: LG RU-44SZ51D - Projection TV

Sub: PT1

Rear LR: XT2

Receiver: Yamaha RXV2700

Any comments on this setup? I was more focused on the HT and Video Games, maybe some R&B music too . I am very new to the speaker world(been stuffing infos into my head for the past week :blink: ), and I just hope this setup would get the job done, as for the center speaker issue, I thought the TV could handle the sound and I really do not have too much space left for a matching XTC, but it would be nice to have it though :cry: .

Here is a question I raised, I do see a center speaker input on the back of my TV, as for the RXV2700, there is also a pre-out jack for the center speaker, which kind of audio cables should I use? I do not really want to go with those cheap RCA cables, any suggestions? as for the speakers and Subs, do you guys think the monster THX ultra 1000 cables would do the job? or what could be a good speaker cables for my setup?

Thank you all for reading, and looking forward on your suggestions.
  • Ryx
    • Oct 2005

Hi DarkZ, welcome to the forum!

If I were in your situation I would not use the TV as your center speaker. I would just turn off the center channel in your receiver's menu which will make the receiver distribute the center information into the XT4s giving you a nice phantom center.

in my opinion this will give you much better sound as a whole then trying to use your tv as a center.