Comparison of old cdm9NT and N804/805 (not so new anymore)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kate
    • Jan 2005

Comparison of old cdm9NT and N804/805 (not so new anymore)

This is my first post on the forum, so let me entertain you.

I am a veterinarian student, almost finished with her studies (at last). I live in the Netherlands, right in the heart. Dancing has always been my passion and there is not a day that goes by that I don't play music and dance and sing along.

I am going to plunge into the largest investment of my life. I am a college student who is crazy about music and has been saving for two years to get a really descent speaker system.
    I really want to do it right this time.

TO THE POINT:

I have surfed the net for hours and hours (probably weeks and weeks if you add all the hours up) and have decided on the B&W sound.
    My receiver shall either be arcam or rotel, but I want to invest in speakers first and then add the best sounding receiver.

Because of the new nautilus D series coming out, I have decided this is the right time to buy. I haven't the cash for new ones, so i want to jump at the chance to get a set of Demo Nautilus (old) series 804 (per pair 2600 euro's) or 805 (per pair 1400 euro's), or second hand ones.
    But now someone is offering me a pair of CDM 9NT for 1500 euro's, which even though they are older seem to get good write ups.

So what would you recommend?

A N804 - 2600 euro demo
    B N805 - 1400 euro demo
    C CDM 9NT- 1500 euro second hand

Which one is the best value for money??

My room is simple , 24 m2, but i want to buy these as a long term investment.
    The most important thing to me is a great stereo sound. My music taste= pop, vocals, jazz, blues.

I would really really appreciate some advice here, and this seems to be a great forum to ask for it.
  • mrkiko
    • Nov 2004

Kate,