X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • yukon.denali
    • Dec 2004

Need your inputs on the B&W 700 & Rotel

Folks,

I am new to the Hi-Fi world and planning to purchurse my first stereo system recently. Here is the configuration I am thinking of:
    o A pair of B&W 704
    o Rotel RC-1070 pre-amp
    o Rotel RB-1080 power-amp
    o Rotel RLC-900 AC line filter and power sequencer

I need some comments from you guys:
    o Would you think these components can match each other. Can you think of any better configuration for this amount of money?
    o I am also considering the B&W 703, which is $800 more a pair. Would you think the 703 is worth of the money?
    o I am also considering the Sonus Faber Grand Piano, which is big jump in price.

Any comments are highly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

-Alan
  • Aussie Geoff
    Super Senior Member
    • Oct 2003

Yukon,

My 2 cents:

Listen carefully to the 703 as well as the 704 - they sound quite different. I strongly prefer the 703 - clearer midrange...

The Rotels will drive this as well as anything I know for the price. There are better amps from companies like Krell, Parasound, Bryston etc for significantly (often double) more $

The Sonus Faber's are quite different in sound to the 703s. In Aussie they are the same price (or a little less). I like the accuracy of the 703s but the Sonus Fabers have a special sweeness about them.... You really need to listen...

Lastly based on a number of posts here there is clearly (for many ears) a marked step up again in stereo quality with the RC-1090 preamp over the RC-1070 (not that the 1070 is bad - its just that you get value for the extra $ for the 1090) so that too is worth a listen..

Geoff

Comment

• yukon.denali
      • Dec 2004

Geoff,

Thanks for the reply. I am going to do a comparison listen on 703 and 704 over the weekend.