X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bigburner
    Super Senior Member
    • May 2005

Unique ability of my Oppo 971

Last week a friend brought around a damaged DVD disc which wouldn’t play in his DVD player or laptop. As I work in the software development industry he assumed that I would naturally have a solution for his problem (people think I can fix their PCs too).

Well I’ve spent hours and hours on this sucker. First I had to find a PC that would mount the disc. I tried 8 PCs and laptops at work and finally found a laptop that recognised it as a DVD. I have tried to copy it using Windows XP file copy, CloneCD, Roxio, and 1ClickDVD. I have tried to rescue it using CDRoller and DVD Data Rescue. I have tried the file copy facility in Ubuntu Linux, again with no luck. They all get about 25% through and then give up.

I finally popped it into my Oppo 971 to see what would happen. Well it played the DVD the whole way through without the slightest problem. I was gobsmacked. What a machine!

Even better, the DVD was really worth the trouble. It’s “Gary Moore & The Midnight Blues - Live at Montreux 1990” and it’s a real cracker. However if I added up all the time I’ve spent on it, not to mention the time spent by my friends and colleagues supplying me with various programs to try, then I could have bought about 50 new copies of the DVD.

Nigel.
  • Vinny
    • Mar 2006

Indeed, the lens on Oppo does amazing job
    I remember my girlfriend had some scatched dvds animate set(many years ago) and I couldn't play on my computer. I thought about buying another set but she played all of them through over the summer.
    Pioneer KRP-500M
    Emotiva UMC-1
    Parasound 5125
    Oppo BDP-83
    Klipsch RF-3II, RC-3II, RB-5II
    SVS PB-10NSD

Comment

• jim777
      • Mar 2005

That 971 is such a great value! I'm so glad I got one, I think it's the best audio/video purchase I made yet!

Comment

• riceaterslc
        • Aug 2006