X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jay
    • Oct 2004

I'm A Rotelien newbie and need advice on speakers

Hi Everyone

I hope this lands up in the wright spot as it is my first post.

I plan on getting a Rotel rsx 1056 and RDV 1060 Dvd player.

My question is regarding matching speakers for the above. Can some one give me their opinion on Boston vs B&W quality wise.

I am considering BW 603 S3 for the fronts with an LCR 600 S3 centre and for the rears DM 600 S3.

The other option is the Boston system:

CR 95 fronts
    CRC centre
    CR 55 rear

My room size is roughly 5m x 4m (it could be a little smaller).

So anybody's comments on the quality of these two systems and the sound of the above would be greatly appreciated.

Jay
    Last edited by Jay; 06 October 2004, 19:12 Wednesday.
  • hery
    • Mar 2003

Jay
    You should post your thread in the Club Rotel and you should get a lot more responses from people that have the receiver and dvd player that your'e getting.
    It seems like your'e on the right track with speaker selection, B&W and Rotel have the same distributor so they'll always be in the same store. I have the RSX-1055 with the B&W CM series speakers and love them. As far as Boston's go, only heard a demo in the store and liked what I heard but the pro's say that speaker shopping is a very subjective thing, meaning it's what your ears like the most. When shopping take your own material, which you are familiar with and good luck. Hope this helps!

Comment

• ds22030
      • Sep 2004

If going B&W, try to go to the 703 as they sound much better IMO. Bostons, I have only heard the VR and VR-Ms......man the VR-Ms are awesome...sound fantastic....to bad they are $2400 for the main floor standers. Paradigm Studio 100s also sounded awesome... at the same price tho. I ended up getting Polk LSi 15. Increadible detail and clarity....about half the price of hte others so I can afford to get a 1075....

Comment

• aud19
        Twin Moderator Emeritus