X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • purplepeople
    • Aug 2004

Cheap but clean 5.1 receivers

Hi all,

I am a newbie on the forum. I know my way around equipment but haven't really kept up with the latest stuff. Any suggestions on a cheap but low-noise 5.1 receiver?

You see, it's time to replace my parents' old Yamaha RX-V receiver with something that is much less noisy. They were visiting the other week and heard my studio monitors and want something with the same fidelity. Anyway, they just moved into a two-bedroom apartment so nothing powerful, just clean sounding. I'm looking for THD <0.1% 20-20K and SNR >90dB - hopefully that will still be cheap.

I think they have the 590 model but can't be sure of my memory. Just idling it generates at least 35dB of noise. My Creative PC-Works speakers are cleaner. When you turn up the volume, the noise gets much worse, even when the DVD is not playing anything.

Thanks in advance everyone,

ensen.
    Those who claim to be making history are often the same ones repeating it...
  • brendon
    • Aug 2004

At the cheap end of town(unfortunately where my budget leads me) the Marantz sr 4400 ,5400 and 6400 are well worth a look.Some argue they are better musically than equivalent priced yamahas and have better power reserves for any given rating(Marantz has a 80% power guarentee ie5 or 6 ch out put will be a min of 80% of two chanel output.I saw a review recently with some brands barely acheiving 60%) .
    From a home theater point of view a lot of people feel the yamahas have a less laid back sound and they definately have more bells and whistles for HT.
    There are still a few Sr-3-- series amps being run out at some retailers in Australia for a mild discount.
    Out here in Australia we dont get a lot of the brands available in US with Marantz ,Yamaha,Pioneer, Sony,Dennon and Harmon kardon the mainstay at this price point.
    Good luck with your search .
    Brendon

Comment

• purplepeople
      • Aug 2004

Hi Brendan,