X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mac7719
    • Nov 2003

Pre/Pro Upgrade Decision Help

Hi All,

Once again, I return to the forum for guidance. I recently received a call from my local HT shop to notify me that Rotel is announcing a replacement for the RSP-1066 in January and that if I want to take advantage of the trade-up program, I should do so before the end of the year. Based on comments from the good folks at Club Rotel and on a side-by-side comparison of the two Rotel products, I had already decided to make this move. I went to the store today for what I thought would be a simple transaction (I guess that was my mistake) and I stumbled upon an additional option. The dealer has a demo Krell Showcase Processor that I could get for roughly the same price (okay, a couple hundred more). I have no experience with Krell products. As far as I know they have a good reputation. Can anyone provide advise to assist me in my decision between the Krell and the RSP-1098? I am interested reliability and support as well as actual product performance. I use the system for 70% music/30% theater. The other key components are a RMB-1075 amp and Dynaudio Contour series speakers. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

--Mike
  • Andrew Pratt
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

That's a really tough choice as both are going to be wonderfully sounding units. I'd guess the Rotel will have more features while the krell will be more bare bones but I could be off base and given your preference for 2 channel it might not matter. Does the krell have a true analog input for DVD-A and SACD?

Comment

• Lex
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Apr 2001

Well, Krell's had a good reputation over the years. I believe they have slipped from the limelight some though the past few years. Sometimes, you see bargain Krell stuff on various auction sites. That doesn't mean they are bad.