X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jeffc52053
    • Apr 2009

BD video quality

Hi All,

I've been enjoying a Samsung 61 inch 1080P television now for about six months and what's odd is my BD players (I have a Sony and a Samsung) don't measure up to over-the-air 1080i broadcasts. Even 720P over-the-air broadcasts look amazing. At 30 bucks a disk I'm pretty dissapointed. So I've tried changing the frame rate to 24 FPS and checked all the settings and everything is ok. I use a HDMI cable from the player to the TV and both the players up-convert standard DVD's which look as good as the Blue Ray disc.
    Am I missing something?
  • JonMarsh
    Mad Max Moderator
    • Aug 2000

Either you have exceptional over the air broadcast quality (which we don't have in the SF Bay area), or there's something with the setup on your players, your set, or whatever- I have a couple of players, both selected for well above average picture quality, including DVD upscaling, and DVD looks NOWHERE near as good as Blu-Ray or HD-DVD. Of course, Blu-Ray disk mastering is by no means a universally well done task, and in the earlier days of HD Sony and others were held to task for poor mastering quality compared with HD-DVD releases. (I have about 50 HD-DVD disks and a couple of the top of the line players with the HQ Realta chipsets from Toshiba, so I have a pretty good idea of how good HD-DVD can look, too).

A good place to check reviews of players for the fine points of video quality is Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity.

I'd suggest getting a calibration disk, or at least one of the Sony disks that has some setup/calibration patters. Use these to check for gray scale tracking and white balance.

Be sure both the player and the TV are setup for 1080P outputs- cross scaling will kill resolution faster than you can say "Minnie Mouse". Again, a calibration disk will help spot problems.