X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mez
    • Jan 2005

Denon 3805

Im a newbie, so forgive any ignorance.

I'm a casual TV watcher that decided to buy a Denon 3805 w some Polk speaker (Rt16? series). I have to be honest that after deciding on the TV I didn't do a lot of research on the receiver.

So the sound is ok, but doesn't seem great. I don't know if I"m using the reciever properly. Can someone tell me why I shouldn't get a composite system and save soem $$ ?? Are the Bose systems any good?

Is there something that I could be missing that would make the sound much much better? NOTE - I don't have the surround sound speakers, so I have a 3.1 system right now.

Any advice is appreciated as I'm having a little trouble justifying my purchase to myself.

thanks!
  • jimmyp58
    Super Senior Member
    • Aug 2003

What do you have connected to this? I see you are using Polk speakers --- these should sound nice with that receiver. Room size? Have you read the manual and go through all the setup processes? How do you have your speakers setup?

Lots of questions. Please provide more details to help us on this.

Bottom-line, you have a very nice receiver and while I am not intimately knowledgeable about your speakers, I know some Polks do sound nice.

Jim
    jpiscitello@ameritech.net

Comment

• David Meek
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

Hi Mike. The 3805 is a good receiver - especially for it's price point - so don't second guess yourself on it. You did well. Denon's generally are considered to have a nicely detailed, slightly warm sonic signature. I'm not too familiar with the Polks so I can't help much there other than to say that there are a goodly number of Polk owners out there.

Oh, well now I can say that they are definitely a step up from any Bose product. Most any knowledgable member of this forum could take the money you'd spend on a Bose system, get you a better sounding one and still save some coin. What Bose has is marketing - in spades.