X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Brent A S
    • Oct 2005

Please Help! Driving Polk LSi9s

Hi all. Have browsed this forum a lot over the last few months. A fantastic site. Thanks.

OK, now my dilemma. I'm a newbie, so please be gentle and go easy on the jargon! I'm currently running a 2 channel set-up incorporating a pair of Polk LSi9s with a Rotel RA-1062 integrated and Rotel RDC-1072 CD player. Setup is less than 12 months old, and as I've got used to it I've noticed that whilst the mid range and higher end (inc vocals) are crystal clear, at higher volumes the bass sounds a bit 'wooly', and the general sound quality & detail starts to taper off. I'm talking no higher than 11 o'clock on the amp volume dial.

I know that the Rotel RA1062 is a capable little unit, but really, would it be expected to struggle driving the Polks which are a 4ohm speaker? Do I really need a pre and power amp setup to do justice to the Polks which (to me at least) look and feel like a great speaker?

PS. I don't need massive volume, and I know that acoustics etc all play a role. I just want to know that all other variables being equal, is my amp a possible weak link in the chain, or should it not really be noticeable at moderate listening levels?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Brent.
  • LikeCoiledSteel
    • May 2004

Hi Brent,
    Driving the Lsi's are not an easy task. Their 4 ohm design can be taxing to many an amplifier. Check out the forums at www.polkaudio.com as this topic has been discussed many times there. The general concensus is that a seperate amp is ideal for them. The Outlaw amps are a favorite there for price/ performance. Good luck.
    Steel

Comment

• Brent A S
      • Oct 2005

Steel, thanks for your assistance.