Open to suggestions for multi channel amps!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PMazz
    • May 2001

Open to suggestions for multi channel amps!

Since i've always owned receivers, I have no intimate knowledge of amps. I'm looking to actively biamp some new mains, (nudge nudge, wink, wink Tom and Jon) and will need 4 channels for this. Of course the Ref50 is about to be launched and going to seperates would also require 5 more channels. My initial thought is to get 2 5 channel amps. Sherbourne and Outlaw pop to mind, right off the get go, but need any and all advice/ideas/alternatives without breaking the bank, of course. $1200 or so each for these is probably near the limit for me. I'm guessing 100 watts/channel is minimum?

Pete
    Birth of a Media Center
  • Lex
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Apr 2001

Two points here. Buy used and get as much power as you can afford. That's the best way to maximize your amp dollar. What if you could find 2 Aragons and a big Parasound 5 channel maybe?

Well, it's a thought.

Lex
    Doug
    "I'm out there Jerry, and I'm loving every minute of it!" - Kramer

Comment

• Pat
      Super Senior Member
      • Aug 2000

Pete, you could always take a listen to Anthem.
      I have one of their 3 channel amps (MCA-3) and it is great.

Pat's Page
      Pat's Page

Comment

• JonMarsh
        Mad Max Moderator
        • Aug 2000

In the price range you're considering, I'd second the vote for an Athem. You won't find a multi channel Aragon in that price range, not even an X3. The Aragon would have more power, and be able to drive pretty much anything. The Anthem may be a bit more refined.

For the off shore manufactured Amps, I'd suggest Rotel for the top end, and Parasound for the bottom end if you biamp. That's where their strengths lie. Using an Anthem for the top end would be fine, also.