X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • iiaudio
    • Feb 2008

Budget turntable

I've been borrowing my father's vintage Thornes turntable for the past 10 years because he lost interest in his LPs. Long story short, he was over at my place for the holidays, we played a few albums and he wants it back.

The Sony PS-LX150H I own doesn't cut it, I've got about $500-$600 to replace it. What should I be looking at?

Thanks.
  • wkhanna
    Grumpy Old Super Moderator Emeritus
    • Jan 2006

New or used?

How comfortable are with cartridge set-up?

New Rega, ProJect & Music Hall units in your price range are basically 'plug & play' from the factory with the carts already installed and aligned.
    _

Bill

Practicing Curmudgeon & Audio Snob
    ....just an "ON" switch, Please!

FinleyAudio

Comment

• exojam
      • Dec 2006

If you go used, you may want to look at a Rega 3. I picked up a used Rega Planar 3 for about 450 and put an Ortofon 2M Blue(200) on it and was happy with it (until the upgrade bug took over).

I was originally using the Phono inputs on my Denon 3803 but later picked up a Cambridge Audio 640P which made a good difference in sound.

If you go used make sure the person selling it knows how to package it so it will not be damaged in shipping.

Comment

• dyazdani
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Oct 2005

+1 for Rega or Music Hall.

I haven't checked around recently, wondering if you could scoop up a VPI HW19 Jr for that price range...
        Danish

Comment

• Hdale85
          Moderator Emeritus
          • Jan 2006

Not to long ago my friend picked up a MusicHall MMF-5.1 for 550 bucks. Very nice TT.

Comment

• exojam
            • Dec 2006

Just a quick check on Audiogon, there is a decked out Rega 3 for the top end of your budget. If you could go there and maybe another 100 for your cartridge, maybe a Ortofon 2M Red? If not, just keep checking around for some deals and check for the other brands guys have mentioned.

Comment

• Russ L