X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Gir
    • Dec 2006

Huge budget expansion!!!

Currently I'm a sophomore engineer at Penn State. Earlier this year I made a deal with my parents that if I could get straight A's that they would pay for my sound system this summer. Well sure enough I got those A's!!! So now I'm looking for some guidance on what equipment to buy. Here's where I'm at.

I've already built a pair of Mark K's RS225/RS28A 2-way's that I'll be using as my mains. I have a pair of Modula MT's currently under construction for the rears, and the Dayton RS 3-way center channel coming up next. For the subwoofer I'm waiting for the Mach5 IXL-18.4 to get shipped in and then I'll be making a sonosub out of that one.

On the video end, my roommate just bought a 42" Sharp Aquos. 2 HDMI in is the important part. Great picture quality IMHO. We also have a Wii getting hooked up to it and possibly an HD-DVD player to come (maybe).

So now I need some help deciding what receiver to buy. Previously I was going to buy the Yamaha RX-V659 for around $310. I heard great reviews on the audio quality (which is what my main concern is) and it seems like a great receiver for that price range. The only down side is that it doesn't have any HDMI. I also had my eyes set on either the Denon 3910 or 2930 for the player. For the player I wanted something that could handle DVD's, SACD's and and DVD audio pretty well. Again, my biggest concern is with audio. The system will be about 80/20 music/ht.

Given that I'm looking at buying a Denon player, I was thinking it wouldn't be such a bad idea to get a Denon receiver as well. I would also like it to handle HDMI as well. The only problem is that I'm still trying to keep costs low, if not mearly to keep my mother from freaking out 8O So overall my goal is to keep the receiver cost under $1200, and I also have no problem buying used equipment, so that can be factored in.