Woodworking newbie here .. thinking of these two tools to start with?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ScottTex
    • Jan 2017

Woodworking newbie here .. thinking of these two tools to start with?

Complete newbie here and have been frustrated with the tools that I currently have ..
    I want to put this to bed so I can actually start building cabinets.
    I am thinking of purchasing the following .. please let me know your thoughts, advice, comments etc.
    Thank you for everyone's input in advance.

DeWalt DWS780 12-Inch Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw .. seems like this would be a home run for angled miter cuts as well as accurate length cuts all in one pass .. ?

DW625 3 HP (maximum motor HP) EVS Plunge Router
  • knowledgebass
    • May 2013

Perhaps a brief description of the problems with your current tools? For example, if the problem is based on your knowledge of using the tool properly or a problem with how the tooling is setup then new versions of the same tools won't necessarily come with instructions or a better setup out of the box.

Comment

• TEK
      Super Senior Member
      • Oct 2002

My first power-tools for speaker building would have been:
      - A plunge saw
      - A plunge router

A table saw would be high on my list for many purpose ad it is very versable when you add various utilities.
      -TEK

Many of the great achievements of the world were accomplished by tired and discouraged men who kept on working...

Comment

• BobEllis
        Super Senior Member
        • Dec 2005

Following Knowledgebass' direction of identifying the problem before recommending solutions, I'm going to guess that you are having problems getting accurate cuts. A solid, level bench helps a lot. I built my Ardents on plastic saw horses on uneven ground. Possible, but I don't recommend it. There was almost as much rework as work.